With early voting in local runoff elections ongoing, voters will choose who should represent them on their local appraisal district boards. 

Appraisal district boards are the agencies that set property values used by local governments to calculate tax bills. For the first time this year, voters in counties with a population of 75,000 or more will elect three members to the board.

In Harris County, two candidates are vying for Harris County Appraisal District At-Large Places 2 and 3. For Place 2, Kyle Scott, endorsed by the Republican party of Texas, is competing against Melissa Noriega. Erika McCrutcheon is competing against Pelumi Adeleke for HCAD Place 3. The Harris County GOP is encouraging voters to vote for both Scott and McCrutcheon. 

Voters in Bexar County also have a decision to make for their appraisal board places 2 and 3. For Place 2, Candidate Erika Hizel will take on Stephen Spears. Meanwhile, G.L. “Larry” Lamborn is competing against Robert Bruce for Place 3. There are no other local positions up for the runoff election. 

In Nueces County, Edward “Ed” Bennett, who is endorsed by the Republican Party of Texas, is facing Shirley “Mayday” Madej for Nueces County Appraisal District Board of Directors, At-Large Place 3. There are no other local positions on the ballot. 

Two places for the Cameron County Appraisal District Board of Directors will also be decided on June 15. For Place 1, Bill Hudson, who got 32 percent of the vote on May 4, will go head-to-head with Alejandro Garcia-Moreno. For Place 2, Ricardo De La Garza who won 39 percent of the vote, will take on Ruben Martinez. No other local positions in Cameron County are up for a runoff election. 

In Ellis County, voters will decide who will represent them on the Ellis County Appraisal District Board of Directors Place 1, between Beverly Gatlin and Paula Baucum. Gatlin is endorsed by the Republican Party of Texas. Additionally, voters will cast their ballots for Midlothian City Council Place 6. The two candidates vying for the position are Wayne Shuffield and Hud Hartson. 

Other positions are on local runoff ballots across the state, including school board trustees, city council members, and mayors. 

Early voting is ongoing, and Election Day is Saturday, June 15, 2024.

Emily Medeiros

Emily graduated from the University of Oklahoma majoring in Journalism. She is excited to use her research and writing skills to report on important issues around Texas.


Fort Worth Hires 'Diversity' Consultant

Documents uncovered by Tarrant County GOP Chair Bo French show that the Fort Worth City Council expanded funding for its Diversity and Inclusion Department by $150,000 to fund a business equity study.