Of the 150 seats in the Texas House of Representatives, 16 are headed back to the voters on May 24 for runoff elections, after none of the candidates managed to surpass 50 percent of the vote. Of the 31 seats in the Texas state Senate, one is headed back to the polls for a runoff.

Several of these runoff elections are due to vacancies and the large swath of candidates vying for them.

However, four of these state House runoff elections are due to challenges against incumbents—incumbents like Stephanie Klick (R–Fort Worth), who failed to support and enact the GOP legislative priorities she was elected to uphold, including protecting children from gender mutilation. Other endangered incumbents, such as Kyle Kacal (R–College Station), support Democrats being appointed as committee chairs in the Republican-controlled state House. Allowing Democrats to chair important committees became a hot topic following the actions of quorum-busting Democrats last year and the failure of the Republican Legislature to enact any penalties on them.

Senate District 24

With an open seat vacated by Dawn Buckingham (R–Lakeway), candidate for Texas land commissioner, SD 24 covers Sutton, Kimble, Kerr, Bandera, Medina, Gillespie, Llano, Burnet, Lampasas, Coryell, and Bell counties, along with portions of Williamson and Atascosa counties. The May runoff will pit former State Sen. Pete Flores against former congressional candidate Raul Reyes.

House District 12

Encompassing all of Robertson, Madison, Walker, Grimes, and Washington counties with part of Brazos County, HD 12’s incumbent, liberal Republican Kyle Kacal (College Station), will face off against Ben Bius on May 24.

House District 17

Formerly held by John Cyrier (R–Lockhart), HD 17 encompasses Milam, Burleson, Lee, Bastrop, and Caldwell counties. This open seat is currently in dispute between former Trump advisor and then-Gov. Rick Perry staffer Stan Gerdes (who has refused to commit to denying Democrats committee chairmanships) and Bastrop County Judge Paul Pape.

House District 19

The open seat includes Gillespie, Kendall, Blanco, and Burnet counties as well as part of Travis County. Newly created HD 19 is now located in Central Texas. It was previously located in East Texas, but that area was absorbed by other districts following State Rep. James White’s (R–Hillister) candidacy announcement for agriculture commissioner. Former Austin City Councilwoman Ellen Troxclair and Austin-area policeman Justin Berry are heading to the May runoff election.

House District 23

Covering Chambers and part of Galveston County, HD 23 is another open seat, which is currently held by State Rep. Mayes Middleton (R–Wallisville), candidate for state Senate District 11. The runoff will determine whether Patrick Gurski or Terri Leo-Wilson will represent HD 23 in the 88th Legislative Session next year.

House District 52

The open seat vacated by State Rep. James Talarico (D–Round Rock) covers part of Williamson County and was redrawn during redistricting to be more favorable to Republican candidates. Now, former legislative staffer Caroline Harris and Republican activist Patrick McGuiness will face each other in the runoff.

House District 60

Incumbent State Rep. Glenn Rogers (R–Mineral Wells) will face conservative activist Mike Olcott in the May runoff election. Covering Stephens, Palo Pinto, and Parker counties, HD 60 gained Parker County in the redistricting process. Olcott has long been a fixture in citizen group Parker County Conservatives. Meanwhile, Rogers’ rating of 45 from the Texans for Fiscal Responsibility Index places him solidly in the bottom quarter of Republican representatives.

House District 61

An open seat with three competitors, HD 61 was held by State Rep. Phil King (R–Weatherford), who is now running for state Senate District 10. Newly located in Collin County following redistricting changes, former McKinney City Councilman Frederick Frazier and businessman Paul Chabot will face off in the May 24 runoff election.

House District 63

State Rep. Tan Parker (R–Flower Mound) vacated his HD 63 seat in Denton County to run for state Senate District 12. Flower Mound Councilman Ben Bumgarner and child protection activist Jeff Younger will square off in May to determine HD 63’s new representative.

House District 70

In Collin County, HD 70 is an open seat that was previously represented by Scott Sanford (R–McKinney). Either former president of the Plano Chamber of Commerce Jamee Jolly or real estate professional Eric Bowlin will be the new representative for HD 70 following the May runoff.

House District 73

The open seat covering Comal County and part of Hays County was vacated by incumbent State Rep. Kyle Biedermann (R–Fredericksburg). Carrie Isaac, wife of former State Rep. Jason Isaac, and former New Braunfels Mayor Barron Casteel will face off in the May 24 runoff election.

House District 84

Covering part of Lubbock County, John Frullo (R–Lubbock) represented HD 84 but chose not to run for re-election. The runoff election in May will see either attorney David Glasheen or former Lubbock County Republican Party Chairman Carl Tepper win the nomination.

House District 85

Currently represented by incumbent Phil Stephenson (R–Wharton), HD 85 covers Wharton, Colorado, Fayette, Austin, Waller, and part of Fort Bend counties. Stephenson, who signed onto a Medicaid expansion package and has a rating of 43 on the Texans for Fiscal Responsibility Index, will face former Waller County Commissioner Stan Kitzman in a runoff election.

House District 91

In Tarrant County’s HD 91, incumbent State Rep. Stephanie Klick (R–Fort Worth) received support from the establishment but anger from the grassroots for killing bills that would prohibit child gender mutilation. Klick will face David Lowe in the runoff election.

House District 93

An open seat vacated by State Rep. Matt Krause (R–Haslet), now a candidate for Tarrant County district attorney, HD 93 in Tarrant County will be represented by either Nate Schatzline or former Southlake Mayor Laura Hill following the outcome of the May runoff election.

House District 122

The open seat in Bexar County, HD 122 was previously held by liberal Republican Lyle Larson (R–San Antonio). Now, State Republican Executive Committeeman Mark Dorazio will face former San Antonio City Councilwoman Elisa Chan in the May 24 runoff election. LIBRE Initiative endorsee and Democrat fundraiser Adam Blanchard came in third and will not continue to the runoff.

House District 133

Formerly represented by liberal Republican Jim Murphy (Houston), who decided not to run for re-election, HD 133 is located in Harris County. Shelley Torian Barineau and Mano DeAyala will square off in the May runoff election.

Sydnie Henry

A born and bred Texan, Sydnie serves as the Managing Editor for Texas Scorecard. She graduated from Patrick Henry College with a B.A. in Government and is utilizing her research and writing skills to spread truth to Texans.


4/19/24 Leftist Feminist Professor LEAVES UT Austin

- Feminist media critic to depart UT-Austin over DEI ban. - Houston teacher arrested for improper relationship with a student. - Huffman ISD accuses AG’s Office of Election Interference in response to electioneering lawsuit.