As one of the longest running legislative ratings in the state, Young Conservatives of Texas’ (YCT) scorecard has served an important function for voters wishing to stay apprised of the job their lawmakers are doing in Austin.

Last week the non-partisan youth organization released the 22nd installment of its legislative scorecard, which it has published since 1975. The group’s press release includes a statement from YCT Chairman Caroline Chadwick, in which she explains that “YCT’s ratings serve as an educational tool for Texas voters to utilize in choosing the most conservative candidates.”

YCT’s scores for the 85th Texas Legislature are calculated based on 40 votes from each chamber that the organization believes involved a clear left/right policy choice.

Taking home YCT’s “Rookie of the Year” awards were Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway), Rep. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park), and Rep. Valoree Swanson (R-Spring).

The poorest performing Republican legislators, tied with a score of 41, were Rep. Sarah Davis (R-Houston) and Rep. Chris Paddie (R-Marshall).

Recognized for their demonstrated conservative records, the following lawmakers scored high enough to make the “Honor Roll:”

Sen. Konni Burton (R-Colleyville)

Rep. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park)

Rep. Matt Rinaldi (R-Irving)

Rep. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler)

Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Hurst)

Rep. Valoree Swanson (R-Spring)

Rep. Mike Lang (R-Granbury)

Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano)

Rep. Tony Tinderholt (R-Arlington)

Rep.  Matt Shaheen (R-Plano)

Rep. Bill Zedler (R-Arlington)

Rep. Cole Hefner (R-Mt. Pleasant)

Sen. Don Huffines (R-Dallas)

Sen. Bob Hall (R-Edgewood)

Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth)