A Resolution

NO. 4030-10-2011

APPOINTING CERTAIN MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF TAX INCREMENT REINVESTMENT ZONE NUMBER EIGHT, CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS; ACKNOWLEDGING THE APPOINTMENT OF THE OTHER CURRENT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD; AND APPOINTING A CHAIRPERSON FOR THE BOARD (LANCASTER CORRIDOR TIF)

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of Fort Worth (the "City Council") previously adopted Ordinance No. 15775 creating Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Eight, City of Fort Worth, Texas (the "Reinvestment Zone"), which was designated under Section 311.005(a)(1) of the Texas Tax Code; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 15775 provides that the Reinvestment Zone is to be overseen by an eleven (11)-member Board of Directors (the "Board"), of which each taxing unit that levies taxes on real property in the Reinvestment Zone has the right to appoint one (1) member each and the City Council has the right to appoint all remaining members; and

WHEREAS, House Bill 2853, which was passed by the 82nd Texas Legislature and took effect on June 17, 2011, amended Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code regarding the appointment of members to the Boards of tax increment reinvestment zones and preempts any conflicting provision of Ordinance No. 15775; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 311.009(a) of the Texas Tax Code, as amended by House Bill 2853, the Fort Worth Independent School District and Tarrant County Hospital District no longer have the right to appoint a member to the Board because those taxing units do not contribute tax increment to the Reinvestment Zone; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary for the City to appoint two (2) members to the Board to replace the members previously appointed by the Fort Worth Independent School District and Tarrant County Hospital District; and

WHEREAS, the City Council has the right, at any time and for any reason, to appoint an individual to the Board to replace any current member appointed by the City Council for the remainder of that person's term; and

WHEREAS, Section 311.009(c) of the Texas Tax Code provides that Board member terms shall be for two (2) calendar years, unless otherwise staggered; and

WHEREAS, the term of three (3) Board members appointed by the City Council expired on December 31, 2010 and those individuals have continued to serve in holdover status; and



Resolution No. 4030-10-2011

WHEREAS, the terms of certain Board members appointed by the City Council will expire on December 31, 2011, and the City Council wishes at this time to make appointments to those places for terms beginning January 1, 2012; and

WHEREAS, Section 311.009(f) of the Texas Tax Code provides that the City Council must appoint one (1) member of the Board to serve as the Board's chairperson for a term of one (1) year beginning January 1 of the year;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS:

1. The City Council hereby appoints the persons listed below to the Board for terms beginning on the date of adoption of this Resolution and expiring as indicated below:

<u>NAME</u>	EXPIRATION OF TERM
David Parker	December 31, 2011
William Bleibdrey	December 31, 2011
Mike Guyton	December 31, 2011
Jungus Jordan	December 31, 2012
Joel Burns	December 31, 2012
Elaine Petrus	December 31, 2012

2. The City Council hereby acknowledges that the following persons have been appointed to the Board by the following entities for terms expiring on the dates indicated below:

<u>NAME</u>	APPOINTING ENTITY	EXPIRATION OF TERM
Kathleen Hicks	City of Fort Worth	December 31, 2011
Dan Piotrowski	City of Fort Worth	December 31, 2011
Roy Brooks	Tarrant County	December 31, 2012
Mark McClendon	Tarrant County College District	December 31, 2011
Linda Christie	Tarrant Regional Water District	December 31, 2012

3. The City Council hereby appoints Jungus Jordan as the Board's chairperson for the remainder of calendar year 2011.



Resolution No. 4030-10-2011

4. The City Council hereby appoints the persons listed below to the Board for terms beginning on January 1, 2012 and expiring as indicated below:

NAME	EXPIRATION OF TERM
David Parker	December 31, 2013
William Bleidbrey	December 31, 2013
Mike Guyton	December 31, 2013
Kathleen Hicks	December 31, 2013
Dan Piotrowski	December 31, 2013

5. The City Council hereby reserves the right, at any time and for any reason, to remove a Board member appointed by the City Council and to appoint individuals to the Board to replace any of the City Council-appointed Board members.

AND IT IS SO RESOLVED.

ADOPTED this 4th day of October 2011.

ATTEST:

By:

CITY COUNCIL

OCT 04 2011

Marty Hendrix, City Secretary

City Secretary of the City of Fort Worth, Texas