## **Tarrant County Resolution**

Support the Censure of House Speaker Dade Phelan, HD 21, by the Orange County Executive Committee and urging the Texas Republican Party to honor said Censure.

**Whereas**, the nature of the office of the Texas Speaker of the House of Representatives, the legislative actions and decisions of Representative Matthew McDade Phelan, while serving as Speaker do impact the outcomes of the legislative session and have a direct impact on the lives of the citizens of Tarrant County and Texas.

**Whereas,** Speaker Phelan was impaired on several occasions while conducting legislative business on the House floor. A video was posted on social media on May 19, 2023 depicted one of those impaired occasions. (1)

**Whereas,** The House Rules Manual states, Rule 1 Sec. 15, Standing Committee Appointments (a) The speaker shall designate the chair and the vice-chair of each standing substantive committee and shall also appoint the membership of the committee. (2) Speaker Phelan appointed 9 Democrat Chairs to the House Committees with a Republican majority in the Texas House of Representatives, completely ignoring the Republican Legislative priority #5 Ban Democrat Chairs and Platform item 233.b.

- Joe Moody (D-El Paso) Criminal Jurisprudence Chair
- Abel Herrero (D- Robstown) Corrections Chair
- Victoria Neave Criado (D Dallas) County Affairs Chair
- Harold Dutton (D Houston) Juvenile Justice and Family Issues Chair
- Senfronia Thompson (D Houston) Select Committee on Youth Health and Safety Chair
- Oscar Longoria (D Mission) Business and Industry Chair
- Tracy King (D Uvalde) Natural Resources Chair
- Bobby Guerra (D Edinburg) Resolutions Calendars Chair
- Terry Canales (D Edinburg) Transportation

**Whereas**, Speaker Phelan failed in his duty to bring many Republican Priority Bills to the floor for a vote. (5) (6) (8)

**Whereas,** Speaker Phelan allowed passage of the House Resolution 155, which recognized Texas LGBTQ Chamber of Commerce Advocacy Day, which is a violation of Texas GOP core principles #6.

**Whereas**, Speaker Phelan referred and promoted the Resolution to Impeach the Attorney General Ken Paxton, violating Supreme Court ruling in Reeves v State 267 S. W. 666 (Tex. 1924) which interpreted Texas Government Code 665.081 that articles of impeachment may not serve to support removal of a state officer for alleged conduct that took place before the date the state officer was elected. (3) (4)

Whereas, Harrison County Executive Committee passed a Resolution to Censure Speaker Dade Phelan in July, 2023 (9)

**Whereas,** Ellis County Executive Committee passed a Resolution to Censure Speaker Dade Phelan in July, 2023. (10)

**Whereas**, Dallas County Executive Committee passed a Resolution to Censure Speaker Dade Phelan in July, 2023 (11)

**Whereas,** Montgomery County Executive Committee passed a Resolution to support the Orange County Resolution to Censure Texas House Speaker Dade Phelan in July, 2023 (12)

**Whereas,** Texans and members of the Republican Party have lost faith in Speaker Dade Phelan's objectivity and capability as the Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives.

## Be it Resolved, That—

- (1) The Tarrant County GOP condemns Speaker Matthew McDade Phelan's actions during the 88<sup>th</sup> Legislative session for his failure to represent the people of Texas in a way that is befitting the office of the Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, and
- (2) The Tarrant County GOP condemns Speaker Matthew McDade Phelan for failure to adhere to the Republican Party Priorities and Platform, and
- (3) The Tarrant County GOP Executive Committee calls upon the State Republican Executive Committee and the Texas Republican Party to honor the Orange County's Executive Committee's call to Censure Speaker Dade Phelan for failure to execute his duties as Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives.

## References:

- 1. Citizen Free Press (2023, May) social media post video https://twitter.com/CitizenFreePres/status/1660079216606445570?s=20
- 2. House Rules Manual, House Rules of Procedure Housekeeping Resolution Government Code, 88<sup>th</sup> Legislature (2023) <u>https://house.texas.gov/\_media/pdf/House-Rules.pdf</u>
- 3. Sullivan, Michael Quinn (2023, May). The Texas Minute by Texas Scorecard (AG impeachment) blast.texasscorecard.com/t/d-e-vltdlhl-mttuyliky-ti/
- 4. Sullivan, Michael Quinn (2023, May). The Texas Minute by Texas Scorecard (AG impeachment) blast.texasscorecard.com/t/d-e-vltdlhl-mttuyliky-ti/
- 5. Sullivan, Michael Quinn (2023, May). The Texas Minute by Texas Scorecard (tax relief) blast.texasscorecard.com/t/d-e-zutbul-mttuyliky-il/
- Downen, Robert (2023, Jan) Bill to ban Chinese citizens and government from buying Texas land gains steam among Republicans. The Texas Tribune.
  Texas GOP coalesces around bill banning Chinese ownership of land | The Texas Tribune
- 7. Waltens, Brandon (2023, May). The Texas Minute by Texas Scorecard (Border HB20) blast.texasscorecard.com/t/d-e-zukhkz-mttuyliky-jj/
- 8. Sullivan, Michael Quinn (2023, May) The Texas Minute by Texas Scorecard (Birdwell border bill) blast.texasscorecard.com/t/d-e-vlyykit-mttuyliky-il/
- 9. Harrison County GOP. Phelan Censure Resolution 2023. <u>Harrison Phelan Censure 2023</u> <u>amended.docx - Google Docs</u>
- 10. Ellis County GOP. Phelan Censure Resolution (pdf) Library (elliscountygop.org)
- 11. Dallas County GOP. Resolution of Censure of State Representative and Texas House Speaker Dade Phelan. <u>Dallas Co-Phelan Censure-2023.pdf</u>
- 12. Montgomery County GOP. Resolution to Support the Censure of House Speaker Dade Phelan. <u>Resolution to Support the Censure of House Speaker Dade Phelan by the Orange County</u> <u>Executive Committee — Montgomery County Republican Party of Texas GOP (mctxgop.org)</u>

Precinct Chair support:

Susan Valliant, Precinct Chair 2174 Mike Brewster, Precinct Chair 1504 TK Campbell, Precinct Chair 4113 Jim Ward, Precinct Chair 3709 Bert Smith, Precinct Chair 2313

Kathy Dawson, Precinct Chair 2425 Jo Ann Mullins, Precinct Chair 3214 Jason Smith, Precinct Chair 2468 Karyn Douglas, Precinct Chair 2556 Sherry Moore, Precinct Chair 1337 Donna Baker, Precinct Chair 3545 Tamma Gunn, Precinct Chair 3247 Steve Eklund, Precinct Chair 2007 Cyndie Lasher, Precinct Chair 2307 Christopher Berthelet, Precinct Chair 2319 Rosalie Escobedo, Precinct Chair 3216 John Raymond, Precinct Chair 4259 Lynda Haltom, Precinct Chair 3330 Elouise Kennedy, Precinct Chair 3387 Brendan Walsh, Precinct Chair 3725 Aaron James, Precinct Chair 4204 Joe Poth, Precinct Chair 2266 Laura Pritchet, Precinct Chair 4340 Bill Eastland, Precinct Chair 2168