The candidate filing period for November’s election came to a close Monday with about half of Midland city council and school board seats left unopposed.

Of the four city council seats up for election in November – two at-large seats, district one, and district two – only two are contested.

Real estate developer Chase Gardaphe, former city council Member Michael Trost, and incumbent Spencer Robnett have all filed for a chance to represent the city’s at-large seats, which will be assumed by the two candidates with the most votes. At-large Council Member Scott Dufford, who cannot seek reelection to his current position due to term limits, will run unopposed for District 1, currently held by Council Member Jeff Sparks. Like Dufford, Sparks cannot seek reelection in his current district due to term limits and instead has chosen to step down from city council altogether. District 2 Council Member John B. Love will run unopposed.

For Midland School Board, two of the three seats on November’s ballot are contested. Drilling engineer Thomas Wolfmueller, Midland County Library Director John Trischitti III, and former teacher Heidi Jean Kirk have all filed to run for District 5, which was vacated by Karen Nicholson after she retired earlier this year.

District 6 Trustee and Board President Rick Davis has drawn two challengers: former teacher Lauren Party and engineer Austin Beam.

According to the City of Midland, a resident can still file as a “write-in” candidate until Friday.

Election Day is November 6.

Lauren Melear

Lauren Melear leads the West Texas Bureau of Texas Scorecard. When not working, Lauren enjoys spending time with her husband and their dog, as well as cooking, working out, traveling to the hill country, and cheering on the fightin' Texas Aggies.


6/20/24 Fraud at Texas Children's Mutilation Hospital?

-Texas Children’s Hospital Now Under Investigation For Alleged Fraud -Patrick Rebukes Phelan for Shelving Ten Commandments Classroom Legislation -Coalition Urges Gov. Abbott to Call Special Session Over Election Integrity