The City of Mission’s May 5th municipal election failed to acquire a victory in two of their contested races for mayoral and place 4 on city council. Both of which are heading into a runoff on June 9.

According to Hidalgo County Elections Department, only 16.17 percent of registered voters in Mission cast their ballots in the four races, two of which were three-way races for mayoral and place 4. The mayoral race was between mayor Norberto “Beto” Salinas, Jaime Gutierrez, and Armando “Doc” O’Caña. Place 4 held a special election, as it was vacated by council member Armando O’Caña in his candidacy for mayor. Place 4 failed to receive a winner and the run-off will occur between Julian J. Gonzalez and Gus Martinez.

On election day, 20-year mayoral incumbent Salinas received 49.97 percent of the vote and stated he was only two votes shy in winning the majority. Per his request, the ballot board reconvened and participated in a recount to determine a winner.

On Friday, the Hidalgo County Elections Department returned with the official results, changing the count by just one vote, an absentee ballot for Armando O’Caña. Salinas’ election day total of 49.97 percent decreased to 49.96 percent, increasing O’Caña’s from 41.63 percent to 41.64 percent.

The city announced on Friday it would participate in a run-off for the mayoral race, in addition to place 4. Mission’s runoff election will occur on June 9th, early voting will commence Tuesday May 29th.

Mission residents will have another opportunity to vote, hopefully increasing voter turnout as this election is in the summer.

Miriam Cepeda

Miriam Cepeda is the Rio Grande Valley Bureau Chief for Texas Scorecard. A second-generation Mexican American, she is both fluent in English and Spanish and has been influential in grassroots organizing and conservative engagement within Hispanic communities. If you don’t find her “Trumping”, you can find her saving animals, running her dog, hiking the Andes, or volunteering with the U.S. National Park Service.