Keep Texas Strong” is more than a slogan for GOP candidates in Collin County. From Congress to County Clerk, Republicans running for office are working together to win in November and serve in accord with conservative principles that make Texas great.

Local voters got another chance to see that unity at a candidate meet and greet Thursday featuring several home-town favorites.

State Sen. Van Taylor of Plano, Republican nominee for Congressional District 3, is well-known as a taxpayer champion and one of the most conservative members of the Texas Legislature. Taylor assured voters he would “continue to fight for less government and more freedom” while serving in the U.S. Congress.

Angela Paxton, who’s running for the District 8 State Senate seat Taylor is vacating, agreed individual freedom and opportunity are key to the state’s success. Paxton said Republicans serving at every level will continue the conservative policies that have made Texas — especially fast-growing Collin County — a great place to live, work, and raise a family.

“We’re all working together to keep Texas strong,” Paxton said.

Justice David Evans, running for re-election to the Fifth Court of Appeals, Place 2, reminded Republicans to vote all the way down the ballot, including judicial and county races. It’s critical to elect justices who apply the law as written, Evans emphasized, rather than legislate from the bench as liberal Democrats routinely do. All eight Republican candidates for the Dallas appellate court have Democrat opponents, and they’ve been teaming up to inform GOP voters why these races are so important.

State Rep. Scott Sanford of McKinney rounded out the state candidates attending the event. Chris Hill for County Judge; Darrell Hale for County Commissioner, Precinct 3; District Clerk Lynne Finley; and County Clerk Stacey Kemp were also on hand to visit with voters about local issues.

Carroll Maxwell, active in Collin County’s conservative Republican politics for decades, told Texas Scorecard he’s never seen the party so united for victory. “If we keep it up, we’ll win in November,” Maxwell said.

Taylor, Paxton, Hill, and Hale are endorsed by Texans for Fiscal Responsibility. A complete list of TFR-endorsed candidates for the November 6, 2018 election can be found at Early voting runs October 22 through November 2.

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.