A tight special election to replace a state representative topped the list of local races on Dallas County ballots Tuesday, along with the statewide constitutional amendment election.

Just five votes separated second- and third-place finishers in the House District 100 special election held November 5. Democrats Lorraine Birabil and James Armstrong III will advance to a runoff to fill the unexpired term of former State Rep. Eric Johnson (D–Dallas), who was elected mayor of Dallas earlier this year. Daniel Davis Clayton finished as a close third in the five-way race.

In Mesquite, incumbent Mayor Stan Pickett lost to Council Member Bruce Archer. All six council positions were also on the ballot as the city transitioned to single-member districts. Incumbents Robert Miklos, Tandy Boroughs, and Dan Aleman retained council seats.

Richardson’s school board is also transitioning to a combination of five single-member and two at-large districts. With three districts on the November ballot, incumbent trustees Eron Linn and Karen Clardy retained seats on the board, joined by newcomer Regina Harris, who won a four-way race for an open seat.

Glenn Heights Mayor Harry Garrett retained his seat with 51 percent of the vote against three challengers, including Council Member Tony Bradley.

Voters in Addison approved all five city bond propositions, authorizing over $70 million in new debt that must be repaid with interest by local property taxpayers.

Sunnyvale’s school district won its tax ratification election to increase the district’s maintenance and operations tax revenue.

Statewide, voters approved nine of the 10 proposed amendments to the Texas Constitution, including Proposition 4, which would ban a state income tax. Turnout in Dallas County was 9.5 percent.

Below are unofficial results from Dallas County. Complete results can be found at Dallas County Elections.


Texas House of Representatives

  • House District 100 – Unexpired term: Lorraine Birabil (33.22%), James Armstrong III (20.76%), Daniel Davis Clayton (20.69%), Sandra Crenshaw (18.99%), Paul K. Stafford (6.34%) [Runoff] 


  • Proposition A – $22.3M street bonds: For (58%), Against (42%)
  • Proposition B – $33.6M street bonds: For (57%), Against (43%)
  • Proposition C – $6.7M park bonds: For (68%), Against (32%)
  • Proposition D – $7.3M town facilities bonds: For (62%), Against (38%)
  • Proposition E – $600,000 traffic control bonds: For (67%), Against (33%)


  • Proposition A – Reauthorize 0.25% sales tax: For (76%), Against (24%)

Glenn Heights City Council

  • Mayor: Harry A. Garrett* (50.94%), Tony Bradley (30.34%), Robert Lee Rodriguez (10.49%), Leon Tate (8.24%)
  • Place 2: Emma Ipaye (62%), Travis Bruton (38%)
  • Place 4: Ron Adams* (unopposed)
  • Place 6: Machanta E. Newson* (unopposed)


  • Proposition A – Charter amendment removing limit on city’s employee retirement benefit contributions: For (63%), Against (37%)                  

Mesquite City Council

  • Mayor: Bruce Archer (52.5%), Stan Pickett* (47.5%)
  • Place 1: Sherry Wisdom (45.63%), David J. Burris (30.32%), Jenny Martinez (24.05%) [Runoff]
  • Place 2: Kenny Green (64.9%), Dorothy Patterson (35.1%)
  • Place 3: Robert Miklos* (59.36%), Jennifer Vidler (31.72%), Noe Villarreal (8.91%)
  • Place 4: Tandy Boroughs* (52.51%), Bryan Odom (47.49%)
  • Place 5: B.W. Smith (58.36%), Henry Brown (22.42%), Sergio Garcia (19.22%)
  • Place 6: Dan Aleman, Jr.* (54.28%), Christina Sowells (45.72%)

Richardson ISD Board of Trustees

  • District 2: Eron Linn* (55.42%), Vanessa Pacheco (45.58%)
  • District 4: Regina Harris (51.56%), Patricia Price Hicks (31.36%), Sakennia Reed (9.62%), Taler BK Jefferson (7.46%)
  • District 5: Karen Clardy* (unopposed)


  • Proposition A – Terminate 4A and allocate sales tax to general fund: For (86%), Against (14%)

Sunnyvale ISD

  • Proposition A – Tax ratification to increase M&O revenue: For (69%), Against (31%)



Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.