Since the retirement announcement of Congressman Mike Conaway in late July of this year, numerous prospective candidates have poured in from across the vast district announcing their intent to run for Texas’ 11th Congressional District.

With the filing period now closed, the field of contenders has taken final form. A large slate of 11 total candidates is now set to seek the GOP nod in the upcoming March 3 Primary Election.

The candidates running for the GOP nomination include Brandon Batch (Midland), J. Ross Lacy (Midland), J.D. Faircloth (Midland), Jamie Berryhill (Odessa), August Pfluger (San Angelo), Robert Tucker (Commanche), Wesley Virdell (Brady), Cynthia Breyman (Andrews), and Ned Luscombe (Midland).

Casey Gray and Gene Barber were also listed as candidates on the Republican Party of Texas candidate filing list; however, FEC treasurer data was not yet listed for these candidates.

Several candidates who had announced their intent to run over the past several months have withdrawn from the race or failed to file, including Richard Bartlett, Wacey Alpha Cody, and Ross Schuman.

In addition to the Republican candidates running, Jon Mark Hogg has filed as the lone Democrat contender, as well as Independent candidate Jeffrey Caddy.

Matt Stringer

Matthew Stringer is from Odessa, TX and serves as a West Texas Correspondent for Texas Scorecard.