Houston Mayor Bill White has proposed a mere 1/8 of one percent tax rate decrease, but this would actually result in a large tax increase due to rising appraisal vaues, leading Harris County Republican leaders and activists to demand real relief.

Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector Paul Bettencourt has penned an analysis showing that, because the appraisal roll has skyrocked by 12.97 percent, this miniscule rate cut would still result in the City collecting $91 million more in property tax revenues. In short, this is actually a tax increase. That’d be about $180 more in city taxes on a $250,000 home.

The Mayor and City Council are still weighing the rate and the budget. You can contact them at:

Mayor Bill White, 713-247-2200, mayor@cityofhouston.net
City Council District
A, Toni Lawrence, 713-247-2010,
districta@cityofhouston.net
City Council
District B, Jarvis Johnson, 713-247-2009,
districtb@cityofhouston.net
City Council
District C, Anne Clutterbuck, 713-247-2004,
districtc@cityofhouston.net
City Council
District D, Ada Edwards, 713-247-2001, districtd@cityofhouston.net
City
Council District E, Addie Wiseman, 713-247-2008, districte@cityofhouston.net
City
Council District F, M. J. Khan, 713-247-2002, districtf@cityofhouston.net
City
Council District G, Pam Holm, 713-247-2007, districtg@cityofhouston.net
City
Council District H, Adrian Garcia, 713-247-2003, districth@cityofhouston.net
City
Council District I, Carol Alvarado, 713-247-2011, districti@cityofhouston.net
City
Council Position 1, Peter Brown, 713-247-2014, atlarge1@cityofhouston.net
City
Council Position 2, Sue Lovell, 713-247-2013, atlarge2@cityofhouston.net
City
Council Position 3, Melissa Noriega, 713-247-2005, atlarge3@cityofhouston.net
City
Council Position 4, Ronald Green, 713-247-2012, atlarge4@cityofhouston.net
City
Council Position 5, Michael Berry, 713-247-2006, atlarge5@cityofhouston.net

 

 

 

RELATED POSTS

McAllen Plans Property Tax Hike

City leaders for the largest city in Hidalgo County have characterized the tax hike as a tax cut, but the average tax bill will increase by $77.