A special runoff election to replace former State Rep. Leo Pacheco (D–San Antonio) is set for Tuesday, November 2.

Republican former State Rep. John Lujan and Democrat Frank Ramirez finished first and second in a five-way special election to represent Texas House District 118, putting them in a runoff.

The runoff winner will serve out Pacheco’s remaining term, which runs through January 2023.

Pacheco resigned in August to take a teaching job at San Antonio College.

The district includes part of San Antonio and areas south and east of the city in Bexar County.

While district voters reliably elect Democrats, Republican Lujan won a 2016 special election for the seat. However, he lost the next two general elections to Democrat candidates.

In last month’s special election, Lujan was the top finisher with nearly 42 percent of the vote. Ramirez received 20 percent. Turnout was just under 7 percent.

Gov. Greg Abbott set the runoff to coincide with the scheduled constitutional amendment election.

Early voting starts on October 18.

Runoff information is posted on the Bexar County Elections website.

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.