Today, Texas Secretary of State Ruth Hughs submitted her resignation, effective May 31, 2021—the final day of the 87th Legislative Session.

Gov. Greg Abbott appointed Hughs to the office in August of 2019, but she was never confirmed by the Texas Senate, so she was unable to continue serving beyond the end of this session.

She replaced David Whitley, who resigned at the end of the previous legislative session after the Texas Senate failed to confirm his appointment.

The secretary serves as the state’s chief election officer and chief international protocol officer, as well as the governor’s senior advisor and liaison for Texas border and Mexican affairs.

The Office of the Secretary of State also publishes government rules and regulations, and is a repository for official and business and commercial records.

Abbott will appoint a replacement. Under the Texas constitution, the secretary of state is the only unelected officer in the state’s executive department.

Read Hughs’ full resignation letter here.


Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.