For the third time in 2019, the Amarillo Independent School District is preparing for another vacancy on its school board, again replacing a trustee who was elected in 2017.

Last week, it was announced that Amarillo ISD board vice president Cristy Wilkinson had tendered her resignation ahead of the board’s meeting on Thursday night.

Wilkinson is the most recent trustee to resign from the board after then-school board vice president John Ben Blanchard and trustee Renee McCown both resigned in the spring. Blanchard and McCown’s seats were filled by appointment, with trustees selecting Kayla Mendez and David Nance to fill the positions.

Wilkinson was first elected to the board in 2017, being one of the top vote-getters out of a five-candidate field to earn one of four seats on the board. Interestingly enough, while Wilkinson’s term is set to end in May 2021, she was the final member serving on the board who was elected in the May 2017 elections; the other three trustees from that race—James Allen, McCown, and Blanchard—had previously resigned.

There is no word yet on what the appointment process will be as trustees fill Wilkinson’s seat.

Thomas Warren

Thomas Warren, III is the editor-in-chief of the Amarillo Pioneer newspaper in Amarillo, Texas.


7/12/24 The Justice for Jocelyn Act

-Nehls and Cruz Introduce Justice for Jocelyn Act to Strengthen Detention of Illegal Aliens -House Republicans Call for Action Against Countries Refusing to Repatriate Illegal Aliens -New Victim Revealed in Sex Abuse Lawsuit Against Lorena ISD