A special runoff election to fill the vacant Texas House District 10 seat is set for September 28. Early voting starts Monday.

The runoff is between two Republicans, former Trump administration official Brian Harrison and former State Rep. John Wray.

Harrison and Wray were the top finishers in an expedited special election in August to replace former State Rep. Jake Ellzey (R–Waxahachie), who was elected to Congress in a July special runoff to replace the late U.S. Rep. Ron Wright.

Wray, a Waxahachie attorney, held the House District 10 seat just prior to Ellzey. He chose not to seek a fourth House term in 2020, saying “elected jobs are not meant to be lifetime positions.” Ellzey endorsed Wray in the special election.

Local grassroots conservatives called Wray an ”establishment career politician” and threw their support behind Harrison.

Harrison is a small businessman and former chief of staff to the Health and Human Services Secretary in the Trump administration. He also ran for Wright’s congressional seat, finishing fourth. He’s endorsed by U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R–TX).

The runoff winner will serve out Ellzey’s unexpired term, which runs through January 2023.

The district includes all of Ellis County and part of Henderson County.

Voters can check the Ellis County Elections or Henderson County Elections website for voting information.

Early voting runs Monday-Friday, September 20-24. Election Day is Tuesday, September 28.

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.