Following the Orange County GOP voting to censure House Speaker Dade Phelan, the Parker County Republican Party has passed a resolution supporting the move. 

By a vote of 17-4 and one abstaining, Parker County’s executive committee approved a resolution condemning Phelan and supporting the Orange County GOP’s censure. The resolution states that Phelan abused the power of his office by opposing three or more core principles of the RPT.

It also cites him appointing Democrats to leadership positions, including appointing State Rep. Joe Moody (D–El Paso) to chair the House Criminal Jurisprudence Committee, allowing for “The Abolish Abortion in Texas Act” to die in committee. 

Furthermore, it condemns Phelan for referring and promoting the resolution to impeach Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton, asserting that it violated the Texas Supreme Court ruling, Reeves v. State. That decision interpreted Texas Government Code 665.081, stating that articles of impeachment may not serve to support the removal of a state officer for alleged conduct that took place before the officer was elected. 

“This needed action comes as a response to the Speaker’s recent activities, which strikingly misalign with the values we hold and champion as Republicans,” said Parker County GOP Chairman Brady Gray. “Particularly noteworthy among the 14 cited violations, is the meritless impeachment of Attorney General Ken Paxton and the appointment of Democrat committee chairs. Both actions undermine the will of GOP voters.”

“Our united front signals an unyielding stand for authenticity, accountability, and true conservative governance within our party,” he added. 

Last month, the Republican Party of Texas voted 58-2 for a resolution calling on Phelan to resign as speaker, citing his embrace of the failed impeachment against Attorney General Ken Paxton as well as his appointment of Democrats to leadership positions.

GOP counties across the state have voted to support the censure Phelan, including Ellis County, Liberty County, Travis County, Smith County, Tarrant County, Harris County, and Dallas County.

An official copy of Parker County GOP’s resolution will be sent to RPT Chairman Matt Rinaldi, Gov. Greg Abbott, Lt Gov. Dan Patrick, State Sens. Drew Springer (R–Muenster) and Phil King (R–Weatherford), and State Rep. Glenn Rogers (R–Graford).

Emily Medeiros

Emily graduated from the University of Oklahoma majoring in Journalism. She is excited to use her research and writing skills to report on important issues around Texas.