The November election battle lines between Denton County’s Republicans and Democrats are now drawn after Tuesday’s primaries saw two incumbents fall to challengers, while the rest were either unopposed or staved off the opposition.

The race for the Republican nomination for Denton County Precinct 1 Commissioner saw incumbent Hugh Coleman fall to Ryan Williams by a thin margin, while incumbent Precinct 4 County Constable Timothy Wayne Burch lost in a landslide to challenger Danny Fletcher, with only 35 percent of the vote to Burch’s 64 percent.

Incumbent State Rep. Jared Patterson (R–Frisco), however, soundly defeated challenger James Trombley with 76 percent of the vote. Yet many grassroots activists said they were disappointed Patterson failed to take a stronger lead on conservative priorities during last year’s “purple” legislative session and felt he was too closely allied with disgraced House Speaker Dennis Bonnen. They looked to Trombley as an alternative.

Incumbent Republican Congressman Michael Burgess (Lake Dallas) handily defeated his opponents with 74 percent of the vote.

None of the incumbent district judges faced challengers this year; however, 141st District Judge John Chupp—one of the judges who controversially voted to remove Child Protective Services cases from the 323rd District Court of Judge Alex Kim—was soundly defeated in his bid for Place 7 in the Court of Criminal Appeals.

Below are the full results of the Republican primaries within Denton County. Multicounty races—such as congressional races—show results from the entire district, not just the county. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk.

Denton County

Sheriff – Dugan Broomfield (11%), Tracy Murphree* (62%), Bryan “Wilkie” Wilkinson (25%)
County Tax Assessor-Collector – Michelle French* (unopposed)
County Commissioner Precinct 1 – Ryan Williams (50%), Hugh Coleman* (49%)
County Constable Precinct 3 – Dan Rochelle (58%), Jeri Rodriguez (41%)
County Constable Precinct 4 – Danny Fletcher (64%), Timothy Wayne Burch* (35%)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

Place 3 – Bert Richardson* (51%), Gina Parker (48%)
Place 7 – John P. Chupp (16%), Elizabeth Beach (36%), Brian Walker (47%)

State Board of Education

District 14 – Maria Y. Berry (38%), Sue Melton-Malone* (61%)

 Texas House of Representatives

District 106 – Jared Patterson* (76%), James Trombley (23%)
District 65 – Nancy Cline (42%), Kronda Thimesch (57%)

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressional District 24 – Beth Van Duyne (64%), David Fegan (21%), Desi Maes (6%), Sunny Chaparala (6%), Jeron Liverman (3%)
Congressional District 25 – Roger Williams* (88%), Keith Neuendorff (12%)
Congressional District 26 – Michael C. Burgess* (74%), Michael Armstrong (8%), Jack Wyman (11%), Jason Mrochek (7%)

Robert Montoya

Born in Houston, Robert Montoya is an investigative reporter for Texas Scorecard. He believes transparency is the obligation of government.