Results of the March 3 Republican primary in Tarrant County saw many incumbents holding on to power, while the vast majority of county races went unopposed.

Tarrant County voters found only a few incumbents facing challengers within the Republican primary.

The Republican ticket for Texas House District 92, left open by retiring State Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R–Bedford), was handily won by businessman Jeff Cason. Cason, who was endorsed by Texans for Fiscal Responsibility, won the three-way race with 54 percent of the vote, defeating Bedford Mayor Jim Griffin and businessman Taylor Gillig.

The strongest challenge targeted 12-term U.S. Rep. Kay Granger (R–Fort Worth), who defeated conservative businessman and former Colleyville City Councilman Chris Putnam with 58 percent of the vote.

Despite being endorsed by President Donald Trump, Granger won her primary fight with the smallest margin of all her Republican colleagues in Texas—16 points.

Texans for Fiscal Responsibility endorsed Putnam over Granger, who has been dogged by a scandal surrounding the Fort Worth Panther Island boondoggle that she and her son have profited from and promoted at taxpayers’ expense.

The incumbent Republican congressman with the next smallest margin of victory was U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess (R–Lake Dallas), with a 48 percent margin.

None of the incumbent district judges faced challengers this year; however, 141st District Judge John Chupp—one of the judges who voted to remove Child Protective Services cases from the 323rd District Court of Judge Alex Kim—was soundly defeated in his bid for Place 7 in the 2nd Court of Appeals District.

Below are the results of the Republican primaries within Tarrant County. Multicounty races—such as congressional races—show results from the entire district, not just the county. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk.

Tarrant County

Sheriff – Bill Waybourn* (unopposed)
County Tax Assessor-Collector – Wendy Burgess* (unopposed)
County Commissioner Precinct 1 – Roy E. Lozano (unopposed)
County Commissioner Precinct 3 – Gary Fickes* (unopposed)
County Constable Precinct 1 – Calvin Hudson (41%), Dale Clark* (58%)
County Constable Precinct 2 – David Woodruff* (unopposed)
County Constable Precinct 3 – Darrell Huffman* (unopposed)
County Constable Precinct 4 – Joe D. Johnson* (unopposed)
County Constable Precinct 6 – Jon Siegel* (unopposed)
County Constable Precinct 7 – Clint Burgess* (unopposed)

District Judges

48th Judicial District – David Evans* (unopposed)
67th Judicial District – Don Cosby* (unopposed)
96th Judicial District – Chris Taylor (33%), Pat Gallagher (58%), Shane Nolan (8%)
153rd Judicial District – Susan McCoy* (unopposed)
213th Judicial District – Chris Wolfe* (unopposed)
342nd Judicial District – Kimberly Fitzpatrick* (unopposed)
348th Judicial District – Megan Fahey* (unopposed)
360th Judicial District – Patricia Baca Bennett* (unopposed)
396th Judicial District – George Gallagher* (unopposed)

 Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

Place 3 – Bert Richardson* (52%), Gina Parker (48%) 

Justice, 2nd Court of Appeals District

Place 7 – John P. Chupp (16%), Elizabeth Beach (36%), Brian Walker (48%)

Criminal District Judge

Court No. 2 – Wayne Salvant* (unopposed)

Texas House of Representatives

District 92 – Jeff Cason (54%), Jim Griffin (37%), Taylor Gillig (9%)

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressional District 6 – Ron Wright* (unopposed)                       Congressional District 12 – Kay Granger* (58%), Chris Putnam (42%)
Congressional District 24 – Beth Van Duyne (64%), David Fegan (21%), Desi Maes (6%), Sunny Chaparala (6%), Jeron Liverman (3%)
Congressional District 25 – Roger Williams* (88%), Keith Neuendorff (12%)
Congressional District 26 – Michael C. Burgess* (74%), Michael Armstrong (8%), Jack Wyman (11%), Jason Mrochek (7%)

Robert Montoya

Born in Houston, Robert Montoya is an investigative reporter for Texas Scorecard. He believes transparency is the obligation of government.