In Saturday’s runoff election for the Harris County Appraisal District, Republicans Kyle Scott and Ericka McCrutcheon were handed a decisive victory over opponents Melissa Noriega and Pelumi Adeleke. 

Scott, who ran for Place 2, won 57 percent to Noriega’s 42 percent, and McCrutcheon, a candidate for Place 3, won with 61 percent to Adeleke’s 38 percent. 

Scott was the Republican nominee for Harris County Treasurer in 2022 and previously served as a Trustee for Lone Star College. He is a professor of entrepreneurship at Sam Houston State University and a business owner. McCrutcheon, who ran for Houston City Council in 2023, is also a business owner and a co-pastor of a Houston-area non-denominational church. 

The two were elected in the first-ever election of board members for the Harris County Appraisal District. A provision in Senate Bill 2 enabled the election, the property tax reform legislation authored by State Sen. Paul Bettencourt in 2023. The provision allowed certain counties with a population of more than 75,000 to hold elections to add citizens to the county’s appraisal district. 

Though officially nonpartisan, the Harris County Republican Party and Bettencourt endorsed and campaigned for Scott and McCrutcheon while Harris County Democrats and allied groups supported their opponents. 

Charles Blain

Charles Blain is the president of Urban Reform and Urban Reform Institute. A native of New Jersey, he is based in Houston and writes on municipal finance and other urban issues.