Early voting for the statewide March primary election began Monday, and Abolish Abortion Texas (AATX) has just released their voting guide, consisting of candidates who pledged to end abortion in Texas. 

The names of 73 candidates are included in the guide covering federal, statewide, and state races.

Gov. Greg Abbott’s name is notably absent from the list. However, two of his Republican primary challengers—Allen West and Don Huffines—have signed the AATX pledge. 

AATX does note that while West has “promised to sign legislation without exceptions, his website still says he will not tell a woman who has been raped not to have an abortion.”

The incumbent politicians who have signed the pledge include members of the state House and state Senate. None of the incumbents in statewide offices or Congress have signed the pledge to abolish abortion in Texas. 

According to state data, more than 53,000 Texas children were killed through abortions in 2020. The Texas Heartbeat Act has been lauded as a win by Republicans following its September 1, 2021, enactment for the protection of children following a detectable heartbeat. 

However, the Legislature did fail to enact any of the proposed legislation that would abolish abortion entirely, discontinue chemical abortions, and provide protection from abortions based on the child’s gender or race. 

Early voting continues through February 25, and Election Day is March 1.

Sydnie Henry

A born and bred Texan, Sydnie serves as the Managing Editor for Texas Scorecard. She graduated from Patrick Henry College with a B.A. in Government and is utilizing her research and writing skills to spread truth to Texans.