Every Republican who opposed school choice in the Texas House now finds themselves facing a challenger in the upcoming Republican primary.

Despite being a priority of the Republican Party of Texas and Gov. Greg Abbott, last month 21 Republicans joined Democrats in voting to remove a school choice program from a school spending proposal. 

Now each of those 21 members are either leaving the legislature or facing intraparty opposition. 

Steve AllisonYesMarc LaHood, Michael Champion
Ernest BailesYesJanis Holt, Stephen Missick
Keith BellYesJoshua Feuerstein
DeWayne BurnsYesHelen Kerwin, Lyndon Laird
Travis ClardyYesJoanne Shofner
Drew DarbyYesStormy Bradley
Jay DeanYesBonnie Walters, Joe McDaniel
Charlie GerenYesJack Reynolds
Justin HollandYesDennis London, Katrina Pierson
Kyle KacalNo
Ken KingYesKaren Post
John KuempelYesGreg Switzer, David Freimarck, Alan Schoolcraft
Stan LambertYesCharles Byrn, Liz Case
Andrew MurrNo
Four PriceNo
John RaneyNo
Glenn RogersYesMike Olcott
Hugh ShineYesHillary Hickland, David Ford
Reggie SmithYesShelley Luther
Ed ThompsonNo
Gary VanDeaverYesDale Huls, Chris Spencer

Abbott, meanwhile, has begun to endorse challengers to these incumbents, with U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz saying he will also be working to unseat those Republican members. 

The Republican primary election will take place on March 5, 2024. 

Brandon Waltens

Brandon serves as the Senior Editor for Texas Scorecard. After managing successful campaigns for top conservative legislators and serving as a Chief of Staff in the Texas Capitol, Brandon moved outside the dome in order to shine a spotlight on conservative victories and establishment corruption in Austin. @bwaltens