As early voting in the pivotal November general election continues this week, one of Texas’ most influential citizen activist organizations has announced their voting recommendations for races across the state.

Grassroots America – We the People, a Tyler-based conservative organization, released their picks this week for contests ranging from president to local county sheriff. GAWTP began in 2009 with a mission to educate and engage Texans to create conservative reform in the state, and part of their focus includes endorsing truly liberty-principled candidates—not simply Republicans or Democrats—at every level of government.

“We do not make endorsements based on popularity, appeasing interested groups, or on political risk,” announced GAWTP upon releasing their voting guide. “We are dedicated to raising a higher standard for public office; thus, what incumbent officeholders actually do is far more important than what they say and promise.”

The group also said that while they do suggest voting for Republicans over Democrats in this election, they “cannot and will not endorse all of them,” explaining that many Republicans “have badly fallen down on the job” by doing things such as ignoring the party platform principles, voting for harmful liberal policies, ignoring their constituents, and “turn[ing] a blind eye to corruption.”

“Grassroots America will not grant elected ‘employees’ with this type of job performance a ‘gold-star approval’ any more than we would give a raise to an employee who consistently failed to show up for work,” GAWTP wrote. “To do so undermines our mission, our credibility, your God-given rights, the rule of law, and ultimately – liberty.”

The group concluded their endorsement release by encouraging citizens to vote all the way down their ballot, to not “skip the lesser-known races,” as many local positions—such as those within city councils and school boards—have control over important items like citizens’ property tax bills.

Early voting in Texas runs through October 30. Election Day is November 3.

Below is GAWTP’s complete list of endorsements:

President of the United States
Donald J. Trump
U.S. House of Representatives
Louie Gohmert Congressional District 1
Ron Wright Congressional District 6
Ronny Jackson Congressional District 13
Chip Roy Congressional District 21
Michael Cloud Congressional District 27
Texas Railroad Commissioner
James “Jim” Wright
Texas Senate
Lois Kolkhorst Senate District 18
Texas House – State Representatives
Bryan Slaton House District 2
Matt Schaefer House District 6
Marian Knowlton House District 31
Kyle Biedermann House District 73
Jeff Cason House District 92
Tony Tinderholt House District 94
Samuel Smith House District 107
Texas State Board of Education
Lani Popp SBOE, District 5
Keven M. Ellis SBOE, District 9
Judicial Elections
Jim Worthen Chief Justice, 12th Court of Appeals
John Browning 5th Court of Appeals, Place 6
Austin Reeve Jackson 114th State District Court, Smith
George Flint 401st State District Court, Collin
Jim Johnson 431st State District Court, Denton
Local Elections (outside home‐base) Smith County
Darrell Hale Collin County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Steve Hendrix Van Zandt County Sheriff
Victor Avila Southlake City Council, Place 6
Smith County Local Elections
Larry R. Smith Sheriff
Gary B. Barber County Tax Assessor-Collector
Neal J. Franklin County Commissioner, Precinct 1
Terry Phillips County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Josh Black Constable, Precinct 2
Jim Blackmon Constable, Precinct 3
Jeff McClenny Constable, Precinct 5
Emergency Services District 2
Johnny Brown  Commissioner, District 4
City of Tyler
James Wynne City Council, Place 4
Jacob Asmussen

Jacob Asmussen is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard. He attended the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and in 2017 earned a double major in public relations and piano performance.