A chairman appointed by Speaker Dade Phelan has signed on as a joint author of a resolution filed in the Texas House to apologize to Attorney General Ken Paxton for the chamber’s rushed impeachment of him back in May.

This week, State Rep. Tony Tinderholt (R–Arlington) filed House Resolution 16 on Tuesday, calling on the House of Representatives to extend a formal apology to Paxton for its “political weaponization of the impeachment process.”

Now the resolution has a new joint author: State Rep. J.M. Lozano (R–Kingsville). 

Notably, Lozano is the chair of the House Committee on Urban Affairs, as appointed by Phelan earlier this year. He was also among the 60 Republican members that voted to impeach Paxton in May. 

The resolution cites many of the House’s failures in a “secretive, rushed, and flawed proceeding:”

Just two days after the House General Investigating Committee revealed that it had spent months surreptitiously scrutinizing the actions of Attorney General Paxton, it recommended impeachment; it failed to put witnesses under oath during its investigation and then failed to follow the rules of evidence in alleging wrongdoing, basing its case on hearsay that would never be admissible in a court of law; Attorney General Paxton was not given the opportunity to defend himself to the Investigating Committee.

Matt Rinaldi, the chairman of the Republican Party of Texas, commended Lozano for his support of the apology resolution, calling it a “politically courageous position.” 

Brandon Waltens

Brandon serves as the Senior Editor for Texas Scorecard. After managing successful campaigns for top conservative legislators and serving as a Chief of Staff in the Texas Capitol, Brandon moved outside the dome in order to shine a spotlight on conservative victories and establishment corruption in Austin. @bwaltens