State Representative Tim Kleinschmidt has joined the ranks of other state officials pledging to oppose tax increases. This especially important as lawmakers start to work on a tight budget amid calls for new revenues.

Empower Texans / Texans for Fiscal Responsibility would like to commend Rep. Kleinschmidt for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.

Earlier this week Texans for Fiscal Responsibility delivered letters to every Texas legislator, highlighting the important role making a commitment to stop tax hikes plays in limiting government, promoting prosperity, and achieving positive policy outcomes.

TFR lauded legislators who have already made the commitment to protect taxpayers, while encouraging those who have not to consider doing so. TFR also notified officials that due to it’s importance the Taxpayer Protection Pledge would be included in the Fiscal Responsibility Index.

To date, 65 members of the Texas House and 6 members of the Senate have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. For a full list of those who have signed and those who have not, visit .

Andrew Kerr is the Executive Director of Empower Texans / Texans for Fiscal Responsibility

Connect with Andrew on Twitter


5/28/24 Runoff Election Night in Texas!

- Beware of Politicians’ phony ‘reforms’. - Texas GOP passes new rule to close Primaries from Democrat influence. - Abraham George was elected as Chair of the Texas GOP.