Polls close at 7 p.m. in the special election to replace Pat Fallon in the Texas Senate. Candidates include one Democrat (Jacob Minter) and five Republicans (Craig Carter, Andy Hopper, Shelley Luther, Drew Springer, and Christopher Watts).

Senate District 30 includes 14 mostly rural counties: Archer, Clay, Cooke, Erath, Grayson, Jack, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Wichita, Wise, Young, and parts of Collin and Denton.

Much of the attention in recent weeks has centered around Drew Springer, who currently serves in the Texas House, and Shelley Luther, the Dallas salon owner who was famously jailed earlier this year after opening her salon in violation of state and local shutdown orders.

A Republican is expected to win the conservative senate district—though a runoff may be needed for a candidate to receive the required majority of votes.

Texas Scorecard

"Real News for Real Texans."


6/21/24 Summer Begins: Can the Power Grid Hold Up?

-Majority of Texans Say an Electrical Grid Failure Could Come This Summer -Texas DPS Arrests Six Illegal Aliens After High-Speed Chase in Maverick County -Tarrant County College Course Teaches ‘Gender Fluidity’