More state House Republicans who voted to impeach Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton have drawn primary opponents, and during a surprise appearance, Paxton personally endorsed four of the challengers in Collin County.

On Monday, Abraham George confirmed that he was stepping down as head of the Collin County Republican Party to challenge three-term State Rep. Candy Noble (R–Lucas) in the March 2024 GOP primary for Texas House District 89.

George officially announced his resignation as party chairman and campaign launch at Monday night’s packed CCRP county executive committee meeting.


Two new candidates also revealed plans to run against Republican incumbents in Collin County’s House delegation.

Chuck Branch, a former McKinney City Council member and State Republican Executive Committeeman, told the crowd he is taking on freshman State Rep. Frederick Frazier (McKinney) in House District 61.

Daren Meis, a current Allen City Council member, announced he is challenging State Rep. Jeff Leach (Allen), who has represented House District 67 for six terms.

Plano businessman Wayne Richard, who also spoke at the meeting, announced last week that he is challenging five-term State Rep. Matt Shaheen (Plano) in House District 66.

All four challengers received strong applause and cheers from the roomful of party precinct chairs and county residents.