By a vote of 53 to 11, the State Republican Executive Committee passed a resolution condemning the Texas House for their rushed and “illegal” impeachment of Attorney General Ken Paxton.

The resolution notes that the Texas House did not consider – or even seek out – any “rebuttal evidence or testimony” from Paxton. Further, the GOP notes, members of the House had only “48 hours before the impeachment vote was called and taken” to consider the charges after the secretive investigation was revealed.

In concluding the resolution, the Republican officials are calling on Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick and the Senate are called upon:

to uphold Constitutionally guaranteed due process, fairness, precedent, and the rule of law by rendering judgment as a matter of law in the Texas Senate on the grounds that the House of Representatives failed to satisfy due process, to comply with applicable Texas law, and to adhere to precedent; that the articles of impeachment be dismissed with prejudice; and that Ken Paxton be allowed to promptly resume his duties as the duly elected Attorney General

The SREC is composed of the party chairman, vice-chair, and 62 members elected from the 31 state senatorial districts – a man and woman from each.

The 11 SREC members shown voting against the resolution were: Donnie Wisenbaker, Susan Wright, Ken Moore, Jan Duncan, Fernando Trevino, Becky Green, Roman Klein, Toni Trevino, Morgan Graham, Lynda Hogue, and Steve Evans. These votes were either cast directly or by proxy.

Michael Quinn Sullivan

Michael Quinn Sullivan is the publisher of Texas Scorecard. He is a native Texan, a graduate of Texas A&M, and an Eagle Scout. Previously, he has worked as a newspaper reporter, magazine contributor, Capitol Hill staffer, and think tank vice president. Michael and his wife have three adult children, a son-in-law, and a dog. Michael is the author of three books, including "Reflections on Life and Liberty."