Monday marked the beginning of bill prefiling in the Texas Legislature for the 88th Legislative Session. The opening of bill prefiling kicked off with hundreds of bills being filed within the first few hours, and even more followed. One of the major bills was State Rep. Brian Harrison’s (R–Waxahachie) Texas COVID Vaccine Freedom Act.

The bill would prevent any entity from compelling and coercing individuals to obtain the COVID vaccine and would require informed consent before an individual is given the COVID vaccine.

Harrison’s bill was originally filed in October 2021; however, the bill did not make it to the floor for a vote.

“Biden’s COVID mandates are not about public health, but about federal government control of our lives. They must end, and it’s why I filed the Texas COVID Vaccine Freedom Act,” said Harrison on his initial filing.

After gaining support from Texas voters throughout the past year, Harrison made the choice to prefile House Bill 81 this year. Harrison said he filed this act in order to “protect individual liberty and defend medical freedom.”

Joining Harrison in the filing of the Texas COVID Vaccine Freedom Act is State Rep. Mayes Middleton (R–Wallisville), who will be moving to the Texas Senate in January. Middleton filed the companion bill, Senate Bill 177, earlier today.

Harrison stated that COVID vaccine mandates currently exist in Texas and are causing Texans to lose their jobs.

Christine Welborn, executive director for Texans for Vaccine Choice, fully supports Harrison’s refiling. “We’re glad Rep. Harrison’s Texas COVID Vaccine Freedom Act has been filed again and look forward to its swift movement through the legislative process,” Welborn told Texas Scorecard.

Harrison says he will continue to fight for vaccine freedom in Texas in the upcoming session.

The 88th Legislative Session is slated to convene on January 10, 2023.

Soli Rice

A journalist for Texas Scorecard, Soli is a new Texan with a passion for politics. She's excited to hone her writing skills and help spread truth to Texans.