This afternoon, conservative champion Ken Paxton was sworn in as Texas’ 51st Attorney General today before a crowded chamber of conservatives including U.S. Senator Ted Cruz, Governor Perry, Lieutenant Governor-Elect Dan Patrick, and Governor-Elect Greg Abbott.

Bearing endorsements across the conservative movement such as Young Conservatives of TexasRedState, Texas Home School Coalition , Texas Right to Life, Texans for Fiscal Responsibility, and many more, Paxton won a “landslide” victory over moderate Straus lieutenant, outgoing State Rep. Dan Branch of Dallas in the Republican Primary before going on to trounce Democrat Sam Houston in November.

Former Attorney General, now Governor-elect Greg Abbott has described the office of Texas Attorney General as “I go to the office, I sue Obama and I go home.” and Paxton seems to be following after his predecessor.

In his remarks at the inauguration ceremony, Ted Cruz said, “Ken Paxton will be a champion for liberty, for the Constitution, and a fantastic Attorney General for the state of Texas”. He’ll have some reinforcements from the Senator in order to do that. After winning election, Paxton quickly poached three individuals from Ted Cruz’s staff to fill out his leadership team in the AG’s office.

In his inaugural speech, Paxton gave strong indication that he would be a vocal defender of the state of Texas, saying, “Texas is under assault by Washington because we are successful, because our policies work.”

He takes over as a leading general in repulsing that assault as he takes Abbott’s place in suing the federal government over a wide range of issues including: Voter ID laws, EPA regulations, and other matters. Perhaps the most pressing fight in which he will take the reins is against the Obama administration over amnesty where he will be leading Texas and 16 other states against the federal government.

Cary Cheshire

Cary Cheshire is the executive director of Texans for Strong Borders, a no-compromise non-profit dedicated to restoring security and sovereignty to the citizens of the Lone Star State. For more information visit