Dallas voters didn’t choose a new mayor on Saturday, but they narrowed down a crowded field of nine candidates to two: fifth-term Democrat State Rep. Eric Johnson and term-limited liberal-progressive Dallas City Council member Scott Griggs.

Johnson and Griggs were the top vote-getters in the May 4 municipal election:

  • Eric Johnson – 20.31%
  • Scott Griggs – 18.48%
  • Lynn McBee – 14.03%
  • Mike Ablon – 13.47%
  • Miguel Solis – 10.72%
  • Regina Montoya – 10.45%
  • Jason Villalba – 6.75%
  • Albert Black – 5.22%
  • Alyson Kennedy – 0.58%

The two will compete in a June 8 runoff to decide who will succeed term-limited Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings.

City council races in Districts 4, 7, 9, and 14 are also headed to runoffs.

District 4 incumbent Carolyn King Arnold, who won a special election last November to replace corrupt ex-councilman Dwaine Caraway, failed to win a majority in the five-way race and will face second-place finisher Dawn Blair in a runoff.

Voters in District 7 rejected troubled incumbent Kevin Felder, who finished fourth in a field of eight. The runoff will be between Adam Bazaldua and former council member Tiffinni Young, who lost the seat to Felder in 2017.

Paula Blackmon and Erin Moore will compete in a runoff for the open District 9 seat.

In District 14, three-term incumbent Philip Kingston finished second behind David Blewett in a three-way race.

Incumbents (*) held on to all other seats in districts where they ran:

  • Place 1 – Chad West
  • Place 2 – Adam Medrano*
  • Place 3 – Casey Thomas, III*
  • Place 4 – Runoff: Carolyn King Arnold*, Dawn M. Blair
  • Place 5 – Jaime Resendez
  • Place 6 – Omar Narvaez*
  • Place 7 – Runoff: Adam Bazaldua, Tiffinni A. Young
  • Place 8 – Tennell Atkins*
  • Place 9 – Runoff: Paula Blackmon, Erin Moore
  • Place 10 – Adam McGough*
  • Place 11 – Lee M. Kleinman*
  • Place 12 – Cara Mendelsohn
  • Place 13 – Jennifer Staubach Gates*
  • Place 14 – Runoff: David Blewett, Philip T. Kingston*

More Dallas County municipal election results can be found here.

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.


7/12/24 The Justice for Jocelyn Act

-Nehls and Cruz Introduce Justice for Jocelyn Act to Strengthen Detention of Illegal Aliens -House Republicans Call for Action Against Countries Refusing to Repatriate Illegal Aliens -New Victim Revealed in Sex Abuse Lawsuit Against Lorena ISD