More local officials are demanding new leadership at the troubled Tarrant Appraisal District following yet another scandal within the agency that sets property values for taxing purposes.

Mayors of three Tarrant County cities—Keller, Southlake, and Colleyville—published a joint statement Thursday saying TAD’s top executive, Chief Appraiser Jeff Law, needs to go.

“Taxpayers have lost trust in the Tarrant Appraisal District, and it is time for the TAD Board of Directors to appoint a new Chief Appraiser,” the statement said.

The latest headline coming out of the Tarrant Appraisal District, where one of TAD’s top-level executives suggests “creating a false narrative that distances the truth for the media” is both outrageous and a breach of the public’s trust. Sadly, the scandal is just another headline that Tarrant County taxpayers have come to expect over the last two years.

The statement was signed by Keller Mayor Armin Mizani, Southlake Mayor John Huffman, and Colleyville Mayor Bobby Lindamood.

Earlier this week, Tarrant County Judge Tim O’Hare also called for new leadership at TAD.

“How many scandals does it take?” O’Hare asked.

The mayors said their cities would be considering a “vote of no confidence” in Law and urged other taxing entities in the county to do the same, adding they expect TAD’s board of directors to “hear the call of the entities and taxpayers.”

Keller ISD Board President Charles Randklev and Mansfield City Councilman Casey Lewis also called Thursday for new leadership at TAD.

Randklev said he was “deeply troubled” by the latest scandal as well as past allegations of misbehavior within the agency, adding “TAD needs a change in leadership to restore the public’s trust.”

Lewis said he proposed a “vote of no confidence” resolution that has been placed on the city council’s August 28 meeting agenda.

Ousting Law may require new leadership on the board.

Three directors—Tony Pompa, Joe Ralph Martinez, and Jungus Jordan—approved a vote of confidence in Law at the August 11 TAD board meeting. Only Rich DeOtte and Vince Puente voted no.

All five voting members of the TAD board are up for re-election at the end of this year.

Taxing entities will nominate candidates by October 15 and then submit their votes by December 15.

The five candidates receiving the most votes will become the new directors starting January 1, 2024. The county tax assessor-collector is a non-voting member of the board.

UPDATED August 24 to include statements from additional local officials.

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.