Tarrant County has hired Clint Ludwig as the new elections administrator for the county.

Ludwig has worked as chief deputy of the Tarrant County Clerk’s office for the past six years, overseeing technology transitions.

He’s also a decorated U.S. Marine Corps combat veteran.

County Judge Tim O’Hare announced Ludwig’s appointment on Friday.

“He can handle the pressure and Tarrant County voters can rest assured Clint will be a no-nonsense Elections Administrator, and one who will work to ensure safe and secure elections where everyone will feel confident in the process.”

Tarrant is the third most-populous county in Texas and is home to more registered voters than any other Republican-run county in the state.

An audit of the November 2020 election by the Texas Secretary of State’s office concluded that Tarrant County “administers a quality, transparent election.”

Ludwig will replace outgoing Elections Administrator Heider Garcia, who submitted his resignation in April, reportedly over a dispute with O’Hare regarding the county’s new election integrity task force—prompting some Democrat politicians in Tarrant to ask the Biden Administration for a federal investigation.

Garcia’s last day will be June 23.

Under Texas law, elections administrators are appointed by a county election commission, composed of the county judge, clerk, and tax assessor, along with the chairs of the county’s Democrat and Republican parties.

The Tarrant County Election Commission unanimously chose Ludwig over two other finalists, Fred Crosley and Karen Wiseman.

O’Hare said, “While the other finalists all brought their own unique strengths and talents to the table, Tarrant County is fortunate to have Clint at the helm of our Elections moving forward.”

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.