Proving that every vote matters, a November special election for mayor of a small North Texas town ended in a tie, sending the candidates to a December rematch.

Elisa Beasley and Chad Major are competing in the special runoff to serve as the next mayor of Pilot Point in Denton County.

The mayor’s seat has been vacant since June.

Former Mayor Matt McIlravy, who was elected in May, resigned a month later after Dallas police arrested him for online solicitation of a minor under the age of 14, a second-degree felony.

The mayoral runoff winner will fill McIlravy’s unexpired term, which runs through May 2025.

Beasley ran against McIlravy in May.

She is endorsed by North Texas Republican legislators U.S. Rep. Pat Fallon, State Sen. Drew Springer, and State Rep. Jared Patterson, as well as Councilmembers Aaron Rocha and Dean Cordell.

Major was elected to Pilot Point City Council in 2021. He served as mayor pro tem under McIlravy and was acting mayor while running in the special election to replace him.

At the same time, Ray Dane ran unopposed in the November special election to finish Major’s unexpired city council Place 3 term.

Major’s supporters include Councilmember Elizabeth Jones and former mayor Jerry Alford.

A total 1,378 votes were cast in the November 8 special election for mayor of Pilot Point, a town of about 4,500 residents.

Each candidate received 689 votes.

Under Texas Election Code, tying candidates can choose to cast lots to decide the winner. Otherwise, a second election is held.

Early voting in the rematch starts Monday, November 28. Election Day is Tuesday, December 13.

Voting information can be found on the Denton County Elections website.

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.