The list of lawmakers supporting the Lone Star Agenda, a package of conservative reforms to be passed during a special session, is continuing to grow. The platform of policies is intended to unite voters ahead of the 2020 elections, and several more legislators have signaled support for the agenda in recent days.

JoAnn Fleming of Grassroots America – We The People, an organizer of the Lone Star Agenda, has received written commitments from State Reps. James White (R–Hillister), Scott Sanford (R–McKinney) and Jared Patterson (R–Frisco) to both support the Lone Star Agenda and a special session in support of the plan.

In a statement to Texas Scorecard, White says he supports “any opportunity whether it is a regular or special session, agency rulemaking, attorney general opinions, and any other appropriate statutory and constitutional means that promote life, our Second Amendment rights, family values, election integrity, our historical monuments, and safe communities.”

“Advancing meaningful legislation to protect and advance the liberties of Texans is always a welcome opportunity, ” Sanford said in a Facebook post. “Therefore, I support the Lone Star Agenda and call for these advancements in a special session, and in all future legislative sessions.”

Patterson declined to give a public statement to Texas Scorecard.

The Lone Star Agenda includes the following 11 items:

1. Allow families to make mental and physical health decisions for themselves.
2. Stop wrongful removal of children from families by restoring due process rights for parents.
3. Stop local ordinances that interfere in private employer-employee relationships.
4. Increase protections for unborn Texans.
5. Improve election integrity (paper ballot backup audit trail; citizenship verification).
6. End taxpayer-funded lobbying.
7. End union dues withholding from public sector paychecks.
8. Protect Texas monuments.
9. Secure the southern border (interior enforcement to end the “magnet” effect).
10. Stop human trafficking.
11. Protect the rights of Texans to bear arms.

At the time of this article’s publication, the current list of lawmakers who have made commitments to support the Lone Star Agenda is as follows:

State Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R–Bedford)
State Rep. Kyle Biedermann (R–Fredericksburg)
State Rep. Tony Tinderholt (R–Arlington)
State Rep. Steve Toth (R–The Woodlands)
State Rep. James White (R–Hillister)
State Rep. Jared Patterson (R–Frisco)
State Rep. Scott Sanford (R–McKinney)
State Sen. Bob Hall (R–Edgewood)

Citizens who desire to see these conservative reforms become reality are encouraged to contact their state lawmakers to see whether they support a special session for the Lone Star Agenda.

Brandon Waltens

Brandon serves as the Senior Editor for Texas Scorecard. After managing successful campaigns for top conservative legislators and serving as a Chief of Staff in the Texas Capitol, Brandon moved outside the dome in order to shine a spotlight on conservative victories and establishment corruption in Austin. @bwaltens


RNC Gives Birth To The America First Party

On this Salcedo Storm Podcast: Representative Brian Harrison represents the 10th district in the Texas State House. Prior to that he was President Trump’s Chief of Staff at HHS.