Only a few days into the 87th Legislative Session, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick has announced committee assignments for the Texas Senate.

Leadership in key committees remains largely the same as before, with State Sen. Jane Nelson (R–Flower Mound) once again leading the Finance Committee and State Sen. Bryan Hughes (R–Mineola) taking the reins of the State Affairs Committee, which he had been appointed to chair during the interim.

State Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R–Lakeway) returns to chair the Nominations Committee, and State Sen. Larry Taylor (R–Friendswood) will once again lead the Committee on Education.

Notably, the Committee on Criminal Justice is the only committee chaired by a Democrat, State Sen. John Whitmire (Houston).

“The Texas Senate is comprised of proven leaders with the expertise and experience that makes them more than prepared to take on the difficult challenges we face in this new legislative session,” said Patrick. “The committee appointments I am making today call on all senators – Republicans and Democrats, freshmen and senior members – to play an integral role in crafting public policy that will ensure our state remains strong and every Texan can prosper.”

The House is expected to have its committee assignments announced by Speaker Dade Phelan in the coming weeks.

The full list of committee assignments may be viewed below:

Brandon Waltens

Brandon serves as the Senior Editor for Texas Scorecard. After managing successful campaigns for top conservative legislators and serving as a Chief of Staff in the Texas Capitol, Brandon moved outside the dome in order to shine a spotlight on conservative victories and establishment corruption in Austin. @bwaltens


A Barn Burner Week For Texas Conservatives

Grassroots candidates are closing with positive messages while the moderates continue with numerous last minute attacks. The Texas GOP is also meeting this week to make some big decisions.