Texans Uniting for Reform and Freedom has released its legislative report card for the regular 88th Legislative Session, grading lawmakers based on how they voted on issues relating to transportation and toll roads.

“There were 27 bills used to determine the grades of the 88th Legislature,” said Terri Hall, founder of TURF. “Not all legislators voted on all 27 bills. Some were strictly committee votes; others were a vote by the full House or full Senate, but might not have made it to a floor vote in the opposite chamber.”

According to TURF’s scorecard, 70 percent of the state Legislature received a failing grade, and only 16 percent received better than a B.

Additionally, TURF graded both Gov. Greg Abbott and Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick. Both received a B-.


In the Texas House of Representatives, only one member received an A+, while two earned an A, and two an A-. The top scorers were all Republicans.

The highest-graded state representative was Matt Schaefer (R–Tyler) with an A+.

Both A grades went to State Reps. Terri Leo-Wilson (R–Galveston) and Shelby Slawson (R–Stephenville). The two state representatives to receive an A- were Valoree Swanson (R—Spring) and Briscoe Cain (R–Deer Park).

Thirty-one additional Republican state representatives received grades between a C and a B+. The other 49 out of 85 Republican Texas House members received an F.

Included in the lowest-graded Republicans in the House were Speaker Dade Phelan (R–Beaumont) and State Reps. Frederick Frazier (R–McKinney) and Jeff Leach (R–Allen).

Of the 64 Democrat state representatives, only one received a grade above an F: State Rep. Christian Hayes (D–Port Arthur), who received a D.


Republicans in the Texas Senate did significantly better with 12 out of the 19 Republican members receiving at least an A.

Seven state senators earned an A++. Those were State Sens. Paul Bettencourt (R–Houston), Bob Hall (R–Edgewood), Bryan Hughes (R–Mineola), Lois Kolkhorst (R–Brenham), Mayes Middleton (R–Galveston), Charles Schwertner (R–Georgetown), and Kevin Sparks (R–Midland).

Two other Republican Texas Senate members earned an A+, and three earned an A.

Four of the other Republican state senators received a B+. The three lowest-performing senators—Donna Campbell (R–New Braunfels), Robert Nichols (R–Jacksonville), and Tan Parker (R–Flower Mound)—received a C+.

Meanwhile, 100 percent of Senate Democrats earned an F.

TURF’s full scorecard can be viewed here.

Soli Rice

A journalist for Texas Scorecard, Soli is a new Texan with a passion for politics. She's excited to hone her writing skills and help spread truth to Texans.