David Covey, one of the Republican primary challengers running against Texas House Speaker Dade Phelan of Beaumont, has earned another endorsement from a statewide official. 

Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller has announced he is endorsing Covey for House District 21.

“As State Representative, the first votes Dave Covey casts will be for a true, conservative Speaker, to stop the appointment of left-wing Democrats as Committee Chairs, and to boot out Dade Phelan’s Obama-lawyer parliamentarian and replace him with a real conservative,” Miller wrote on X. 

In October, Covey also earned Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton’s endorsement. 

“Texas conservatives have seen their State House hijacked by liberal RINO Republicans for far too long,” said Paxton. “Texas should be a leading beacon for conservative policies. Instead, Texas has had to watch a liberal House Speaker and his loyalists kill hundreds of pieces of conservative legislation that would unleash untold economic growth and secure even more freedom.”

“I have had enough, and I know conservative voters have had enough. I’m making these endorsements to begin restoring a conservative majority in our state House. I look forward to campaigning with these candidates in the days ahead,” Paxton added. 

Covey, the former Orange County Republican Party chairman, first announced his campaign against Phelan in June. He took aim at Phelan for appointing Democrats to key leadership positions in Texas House committees.

“I am your choice if you believe Republicans should not compromise with liberal Democrats and lock arms with them to kill conservative legislation,” said Covey. “I am your choice if you believe we should eliminate property taxes, secure our borders, and protect our children.

In the Republican primary for HD 21’s seat, Covey is joined by another challenger, Alicia Davis of Jasper, who says her main priority is eliminating property taxes and county appraisal districts.

House District 21 contains all of Orange and Jasper counties, as well as a portion of Jefferson County. 

Miller has released a slate of endorsements in his “RINO Hunt” including:

  • Chris Spencer in Texas House District 1 over Gary VanDeaver
  • Brent Money in Texas House District 2
  • Joe McDaniel in Texas House District 7 over Jay Dean
  • Ben Bius in Texas House District 12
  • A.J. Louderback in Texas House District 30
  • Andy Hopper in Texas House District 64 over Lynn Stucky
  • Barry Wernick in Texas House District 108 over Morgan Meyer
  • Jared Woodfill in Texas House District 138 over Lacey Hull

The Texas Republican primary will be held March 5, 2024.

Emily Medeiros

Emily graduated from the University of Oklahoma majoring in Journalism. She is excited to use her research and writing skills to report on important issues around Texas.