Dallas voters chose Democrat State Rep. Eric Johnson to be the city’s next mayor over progressive four-term city council member Scott Griggs in Saturday’s municipal runoff elections.

Johnson bested Griggs 56-44 percent in the June 8 runoff. Johnson and Griggs were the top two vote-getters in May’s nine-way race to replace term-limited Mayor Mike Rawlings.

Voter turnout was under 10 percent, with just over 74,000 voters casting ballots in the mayoral runoff. Four other Dallas City Council positions were also decided Saturday.

Griggs ally Philip Kingston, a three-term incumbent, lost his District 14 runoff to political newcomer David Blewett. District 4 incumbent Carolyn King Arnold, who won a special election last year to replace Dwaine Caraway after he pleaded guilty to federal corruption charges, retained her seat.

Adam Bazaldua beat former council member Tiffinni Young to represent District 7; incumbent Kevin Felder failed to make the runoff. Paula Blackmon topped Erin Moore to win the open District 9 seat being vacated by Mark Clayton.

Johnson and the rest of the new council will be sworn in June 17.

In the lone Dallas school board runoff, Karla Garcia beat Camile White for the District 4 position.

Results of all Dallas County runoff elections are listed below. An asterisk (*) denotes an incumbent.

Dallas City Council

  • Mayor – Eric Johnson (55.61%); Scott Griggs (44.39%)
  • District 4 – Carolyn King Arnold* (52.66%); Dawn Blair (47.34%)
  • District 7 – Adam Bazaldua (51.09%); Tiffinni Young (48.91%)
  • District 9 – Paula Blackmon (52.11%); Erin Moore (47.89%)
  • District 14 – David Blewett (53.52%); Philip Kingston* (46.48%)

Dallas Independent School District

  • District 4 – Karla Garcia (59.23%); Camile White (40.77%)

Cedar Hill City Council

  • Place 5 – Gregory Glover (65.81%); Victor Gonzalez (34.19%)

DeSoto City Council

  • Place 5 – Dinah Marks (54.80%); Marikay Dewberry (45.20%)

Richardson City Council

  • Place 3 – Janet DePuy (51.06%); Dan Barrios (48.94%)

Rowlett City Council

  • Place 4 – Whitney Laning (51.72%); Diane Lemmons (48.28%)
Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson is a Senior Journalist for Texas Scorecard, reporting on state and local issues, events, and government actions that impact people in communities throughout Texas and the DFW Metroplex. A native Texan, Erin grew up in the Houston area and now lives in Collin County.


A Barn Burner Week For Texas Conservatives

Grassroots candidates are closing with positive messages while the moderates continue with numerous last minute attacks. The Texas GOP is also meeting this week to make some big decisions.